e-Tourist Visa Scheme of India – Now for 150 Countries

On 25 February the Union Government announced, through a statement issued by the Home Ministry, the expansion of its e-Tourist Visa (e-TV) facility, to 37 more countries. With this the total number of countries covered under e-Tourist Visa scheme has reached to 150 countries.

The 37 more countries added in the e-TV scheme are Albania, Austria, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Botswana, Brunei, Bulgaria, Cape Verde, Comoros, Cote d’lvoire, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Eritrea, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Greece, Guinea, Iceland, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Moldova, Namibia, Romania, San Marino, Senegal, Serbia, Slovakia, South Africa, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Trinidad & Tobago, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Also Read: Government Approves National Capital Goods Policy (NCGP)

Short History of e-Tourist Visa Scheme

The scheme was first launched bearing the name, the Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) facility, On 27 November 2014 for citizens of around 40 eligible countries, comprising those who were eligible for Visa on arrival.

August 2015, the list was extended to 113 countries. ETA is issued for short term medical treatment, visiting friends and family, and business visits. On 15th April 2015, the ETV facility was re-named as e-Tourist Visa (e-TV) scheme.

Also Read: MoU between Project Management Institute and IAHE: a Boon for MORTH

India’s Visa Policy

According to the Visa Policy of India a visitor to India would have to secure a visa from an India diplomat mission. However, this condition is not applied to citizens of the visa-exempt countries or a country whose citizens may procure a visa online.

Citizens of Nepal, Bhutan and Maldives do not need visa to enter India – unless they are seeking entrance from mainline China – and are permitted to stay without any time limit (unless the Government decides otherwise). However, for the citizens of Maldives on their stay there is a time limit of 90 days.

Travelers who have got a document of Overseas Citizens of India or possess a Persons of India Origin Card(PIO) also do not need that citizens of Nepal, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Bhutan, Pakistan, Afghanistan, and China (mainland) do not have  right to hold PIO card or Overseas India Citizenship.

You May Also Read: Signing NPT not a prerequisite for Nuclear Suppliers Group

Conditions for issuance of an e-Tourist Visa

  • An applicant of an e-TV has to apply for it at least four days in advance of the date of his/her arrival.
  • This visa is valid for single person who can stay in India maximum for 30 days from the date of her/his arrival.
  • This e-TV can be sought twice in a calendar year; however, it cannot be extended.

Fees for e-Tourist Visa

The fees for the issuance of an e-TV are divided into four slabs: Zero, US $25, US $48 and US $60, plus a bank fee of 2.5 % the Visa fee. The fees depend on the reciprocal (at the International level) in nature.

Citizens belonging to the following countries do not need, at present, to pay a visa fee – Afghanistan, Argentina, Bangladesh, DPR Korea, Jamaica, Maldives, Mauritius, Mongolia, Seychelles (up to 3 months), South Africa and Uruguay.

Also Read: Chabahar Agreement: Path to the Future India-Iran Relation

Recent Articles

Open Skies Treaty and US exit – All you need to know

What is Open Skies Treaty?Open Skies Treaty is an accord among 34 member nations, it allows participants to...

The Rig Veda Age : Religion and Philosophy

The socio-economic life, that project simplicity, of Vedic Aryans was quite opposite to the religious aspect, that was highly ritualized, of their...

Neighbouring Countries of India

AfghanistanAfghanistan is a landlocked country that is located approximately in the centre of Asia. It is bordered by...

Inventions That Changed the World

“Nothing is permanent except a change.” You might have come across this quotation more than once in your lifetime. Here is the list of...

Industries Contributing to Indian Economy

The Indian Economy is the 9th largest economy of the world and also one of the fastest growing world economies. The most top industries...

Related Stories

Stay on top - Get the daily news in your inbox