Dadasaheb Phalke Award Winners

Dadasaheb Phalke, known as the Father of Indian Cinema was the maker of India’s first feature film Raja Harishchandra back in 1913. In his honor, Government of India constituted the Dadasaheb Phalke Award, India’s highest award in cinema. Under the Ministry of Information of Broadcasting, Directorate of Film Festival annually organizes this award ceremony. The selection of the recipient is done by an independent committee of eminent film personalities.
The award presented by the President of India and constitutes of a golden lotus medallion, and a cash prize.

Winners of Dadasaheb Phalke Award

1969 – Devika Rani, actress
1970 – B. N. Sircar, producer
1971 – Prithviraj Kapoor, actor (posthumous)
1972 – Pankaj Mullick, composer (music director)
1973 – Ruby Myers (Sulochana), actress
1974 – Bomireddi Narasimha, Reddy director
1975 – Dhirendranath Ganguly, actor, director
1976 – Kanan Devi, actress
1977 – Nitin Bose, cinematographer, director, writer
1978 – Rai Chand Boral, composer, director
1979 – Sohrab Modi, actor, director, producer
1980 – Paidi Jairaj, actor, director
1981 – Naushad Ali, composer (music director)
1982 – L. V. Prasad, actor, director, producer
1983 – Durga Khote, actress
1984 – Satyajit Ray, director
1985 – V. Shantaram, actor, director, producer
1986 – B. Nagi Reddy, producer
1987 – Raj Kapoor, actor, director
1988 – Ashok Kumar, actor
1989 – Lata Mangeshkar, singer
1990 – A. Nageswara Rao, actor
1991 – Bhalji Pendharkar, director, producer, writer
1992 – Bhupen Hazarika, composer (music director)
1993 – Majrooh Sultanpuri, lyricist
1994 – Dilip Kumar, actor
1995 – Dr. Rajkumar, actor
1996 – Sivaji Ganesan, actor
1997 – Pradeep, lyricist
1998 – B.R. Chopra, director, producer
1999 – Hrishikesh Mukherjee, director
2000 – Asha Bhosle, singer
2001 – Yash Chopra, director, producer
2002 – Dev Anand, actor, director, producer
2003 – Mrinal Sen, director
2004 – Adoor Gopalakrishnan, director
2005 – Shyam Benegal, director
2006 – Tapan Sinha, director
2007 – Manna Dey, singer
2008 – V.K. Murthy, cinematographer
2009 – D.Ramanaidu, producer, director
2010 – K. Balchander, director
2011 – Soumitra Chatterjee, actor
2012 – Pran, actor
2013 – Guljar, lyricist
2014 – Shashi Kapoor, actor
2015 – Manoj Kumar, actor
2016 – Kasinathuni Viswanath, director
2017 – Vinod Khanna, actor

Read Also:

Recent Articles

Open Skies Treaty and US exit – All you need to know

What is Open Skies Treaty?Open Skies Treaty is an accord among 34 member nations, it allows participants to...

The Rig Veda Age : Religion and Philosophy

The socio-economic life, that project simplicity, of Vedic Aryans was quite opposite to the religious aspect, that was highly ritualized, of their...

Neighbouring Countries of India

AfghanistanAfghanistan is a landlocked country that is located approximately in the centre of Asia. It is bordered by...

Inventions That Changed the World

“Nothing is permanent except a change.” You might have come across this quotation more than once in your lifetime. Here is the list of...

Industries Contributing to Indian Economy

The Indian Economy is the 9th largest economy of the world and also one of the fastest growing world economies. The most top industries...

Related Stories

1 Comment

Comments are closed.

Stay on top - Get the daily news in your inbox