Become a member

Get the best offers and updates relating to Syskool.

― Advertisement ―


Hockey’s Jadoogar – Dhyan Chand

Dhyan Chand popularly known as hockey's jadoogar. Dhyan Chand was born on 29th August, 1905 at Allahabad. His father was in the British Indian...
HomeLearnEconomyInformation on Nationalised Banks

Information on Nationalised Banks

Nationalised banks dominate the banking system in India. The history of nationalised banks in India dates back to mid-20th century, when Imperial Bank of India was nationalised (under the SBI Act of 1955) and re-christened as State Bank of India (SBI) in July 1955. Then on 19th July 1960, its seven subsidiaries were also nationalised with deposits over 200 crores.
Must Read: How Banks Work?

Important Information on Nationalised Banks

  • The oldest Joint Stock Bank of India – Allahabad Bank
  • The bank founded by Freedom Fighter Dr. Bhogaraju Pattabhi Sitaramayya – Andhra Bank
  • First bank to open a branch outside India – Bank of India, London,1946
  • The first bank to be given an ISO 9002 certificate for one of its branches – Canara Bank
  • The Postal Dept has issued a commemorative stamp in the name of this bank
  • Celebrating 100 years in 2011 – Central Bank of India
  • First Indian Bank to be wholly owned by Indians – Central Bank of India
  • The bank formed on the efforts of Lala Lajpat Rai – Punjab National Bank
  • The only merger of nationalised banks took place between – Punjab National Bank and New Bank of India in 1993
  • The bank whose brand equity is “Pygmy Deposit Scheme” – Syndicate Bank
  • The bank which was conceived by Shri GD Birla – UCO Bank
  • The bank which was inaugurated by Mahatma Gandhi in 1919 – Union Bank of India
  • The largest among nationalised banks – Punjab National Bank
  • The bank established in the year 1913 as Bank of Mysore Ltd. at the instance of the banking committee headed by the great Engineer-Statesman, Late Dr Sir M.Visvesvaraya. – State Bank of Mysore
  • The State with the largest number of commercial bank offices – Uttar Pradesh (13167 as on 31.03.2013)

Also Read: Difference between State Bank of India and Nationalised Bank

List of Nationalised Banks in India and their Head Offices

  1. Allahabad Bank – Kolkata
  2. Andhra Bank – Hyderabad
  3. Bank of Baroda – Baroda
  4. Bank of India – Mumbai
  5. Bank of Maharashtra – Pune
  6. Canara Bank – Bengaluru
  7. Central Bank of India – Mumbai
  8. Corporation Bank – Mangalore
  9. Dena Bank – Mumbai
  10. Indian Bank – Chennai
  11. Indian Overseas Bank – Chennai
  12. Oriental Bank of Commerce – New Delhi
  13. Punjab & Sind Bank – New Delhi
  14. Punjab National Bank – New Delhi
  15. Syndicate Bank – Manipal
  16. UCO Bank – Kolkata
  17. Union Bank of India – Mumbai
  18. United Bank of India – Kolkata
  19. Vijaya Bank – Bangalore
Have a Look at: