Become a member

Get the best offers and updates relating to Syskool.

― Advertisement ―


Hockey’s Jadoogar – Dhyan Chand

Dhyan Chand popularly known as hockey's jadoogar. Dhyan Chand was born on 29th August, 1905 at Allahabad. His father was in the British Indian...
HomeKnowFactsDid you know these basic facts?

Did you know these basic facts?

Basic Facts

Q1. Where was the Civil disobedience movement launched in 1922?
Ans. Bardoli

Q2. At which session of the Indian National Congress was “Vande Mataram” sung for the first time?
Ans. 1896 Session

Q3. When the Republic of India was officially proclaimed?
Ans. 26 January 1950

Q4. Who is father of the Nation?
Ans. Mahatma Gandhi

Q5. The colors of our Indian Flag hold a special significance. What does the blue wheel positioned in the center of the Flag signifies?
Ans. Wheel of Law

Q6. Indian National Congress was founded by?
Ans. Allan Octavian Hume

Q7. This PM pioneered the slogan “Jai Jawan, Jai Kisan”. He got part of his name from Kashi Vidya Peetha. Who is he?
Ans. Lal Bahadur Shastri

Q8. Name the Prime minister who gave a very famous speech “A Tryst with Destiny”?
Ans. Jawaharlal Nehru

Q9. When the Salt March and civil disobedience started?
Ans. 11 March and 6 April 1930

Q10. When did Gandhiji start the Sabarmati Ashram?
Ans. 1916

Q11. Name the viceroy of India when the Rowlatt Act was repealed?
Ans. Lord Reeding

Q12. Who wrote the book “The origin of the Indian National Congress”?
Ans. Pattabhi Sita Ramayya.

Q13. In which act, the rule of East India Company ended in India?
Ans. Govt. of India Act, 1858.

Q14. Which year onwards Gandhi Jayanthi is celebrated as international non violence day?
Ans. 2007

Q15. When did India attain Independence?
Ans. 15 August 1947

Q16. “Swaraj is my birthright and I shall have it” is the slogan given by which famous leader?
Ans. Bal Gangadhar Tilak

Q17. Who gave Gandhi the title “Mahatma”?
Ans. Rabindranath Tagore

Q18. Who was the First President of Independent India?
Ans. Rajendra Prasad

Q19. When Jallianwala Bagh massacre took place?
Ans.April 13, 1919

Q20. Who was the viceroy of India when Montague- Chelmsford reforms were introduced?
Ans. Lord Chelmsford

Q21. Whose famous motto was: “Give me blood and I will give you freedom”?
Ans. Subhas Chandra Bose

Q22. Among the following leaders who was appointed as the viceroy of Independent India?
Ans. Lord Mountbatten

Q23. Who wrote the National Anthem of India?
Ans. Rabindranath Tagore

Q24. When was the English East India Company established?
Ans. 1600 A.D

Q25. Who was the Governor General of India when the first war of India’s independence broke out in 1857?
Ans. Lord Canning

Q26. Who wrote the book “India’s First War of Independence”?
Ans. Vinayak Samodar Savarkar

Q27. Who was the Lal in Lal, Bal, Pal?
Ans. Lala Lajapathi Rai

Q28. Who created Indian National Army for Indian Independence?
Ans.Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose

Q29. Who set up the Indian Independence League?
Ans. Rash Bihari Bose

Q30. Who gave the slogan “Dilli Chalo” or “March to Delhi”?
Ans. Subhash Chandra Bose

Must Read:

General Knowledge Facts File – Important

General Knowledge Compendium

General Knowledge about Indian Constitution