Become a member

Get the best offers and updates relating to Syskool.

― Advertisement ―


Hockey’s Jadoogar – Dhyan Chand

Dhyan Chand popularly known as hockey's jadoogar. Dhyan Chand was born on 29th August, 1905 at Allahabad. His father was in the British Indian...
HomeKnowLists45 Bharat Ratna Recipients - know why they are most deserving

45 Bharat Ratna Recipients – know why they are most deserving

Bharat Ratna is highest civilian award in India, which started in 1954. It is given in any field of human endeavour. Prime Minister and President of India can recommend a name for Bharat Ratna. Find out Bharat Ratna Award Winners List below and their achievements and some facts as well.

Bharat Ratna

Bharat Ratna Award Winners List

1. C. Rajagopalachari in 1954

First recipient of Bharat Ratna. He was an Independence activist, also last and only Indian Governor-General of India.

2. Sir C V Raman 1954

Sir CV Raman was awarded Bharat Ratna in the same year it was started. He is Nobel laureate physicist (1930) and one of the most popular scientist in world.

3. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan 1954

Dr. Radhakrishnan also received Bharat Ratna in first year itself. He was a great Philosopher, India’s first Vice-President (1952–62), and second President (1962–67). He was awarded Bharat Ratna when while he was Vice President of India (Vice President of India have no role in Bharat Ratna decisions.)

4. Bhagwan Das 1955

Bhagwan Das was an Independence activist, theosophist, and founder of Mahatma Gandhi Kashi Vidyapith.

5. Visvesvaraya 1955

He was most notable Engineer of India. Visvesvaraya was a Civil engineer, Diwan of Mysore (1912–18), and Knight Commander of the Indian Empire.

6. Jawaharlal Nehru 1955

Pandit Nehru was awarded Bharat Ratna in 1955 when he was Prime Minister of India. He was an Independence activist, author, and first Prime Minister of India (1947–64). (PM of India is the one who confirms Bharat Ratna Winner)

7. Govind Ballabh Pant 1957

Govind Ballabh Pant was an Independence activist, first Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh (1950–54)

8. Dr Dhondo Keshav Karve 1958

Dr. Karve was a highly regarded and one of the most notable social Reformer of India.

9. Bidhan Chandra Roy 1961

A Physician-Surgeon and second Chief Minister of West Bengal (1948–62)

10. Purushottam Das Tandon 1961

Purushottam Das Tandon was an Independence activist and educator.

11. Rajendra Prasad 1962

Dr. Rajendra Prasad received Bharat Ratna in 1962 after his tenure as President of India came to an end. He was an Independence activist, lawyer and first President of India (1950–62).

12. Zakir Hussain 1963

An Independence activist, second Vice-President of India (1962–67), and third President of India (1967–69). Received Bharat Ratna while he was Vice President of India.

13. Pandurang Vaman Kane 1963

An Indologist and notable Sanskrit scholar.

14. Lal Bahadur Shastri 1966

He was an Independence activist and third Prime Minister of India (1964–66). Received Bharat Ratna after his sudden death in 1966.

15. Indira Gandhi 1971

Indira Gandhi was Former Prime Minister of India (1966–77, 1980–84). She received Bharat Ratna when she was Prime Minister of India.

16. V. V. Giri 1975

Trade unionist, first Acting President of India, and fourth President of India (1969–74).

17. K. Kamaraj 1976

Independence activist and former Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu (1954–57, 1957–62, 1962–63)

18. Mother Teresa 1980

Mother Teresa was Catholic nun, founder of the Missionaries of Charity and Nobel peace prize laureate (1979). She was first recipient of Bharat Ratna who was not an Indian citizen. She received Bharat Ratna right after she won Noble Peace Prize.

19. Vinoba Bhave 1983

An Independence activist, social reformer, and Ramon Magsaysay Award laureate (1958)

20. Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan 1987

An Independence activist who fought for India’s freedom.

21. M. G. Ramachandran 1988

Film actor and former Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu and founder of AIADMK political party. (1977–80, 1980–84, 1985–87)

22. B. R. Ambedkar 1990

Dr Ambedkar was Chief architect of the Indian Constitution and social reformer.

23. Nelson Mandela 1990

Leader of the Anti-Apartheid Movement in South Africa and Nobel Peace Prize laureate (1993). Another recipient who was not Indian Citizen.

24. Rajiv Gandhi 1991

Rajiv Gandhi was given Bharat Ratna after his assassination in 1991. He was Ninth Prime Minister of India (1984–89)

25. Vallabhbhai Patel 1991

An Independence activist and first Deputy Prime Minister of India(1947–50)

26. Morarji Desai 1991

Morarji Deasi was an Independence activist and sixth Prime Minister of India (1977–79). He was first Non Congress Leader to becom India’s Prime Minister.

27. Abul Kalam Azad 1992

An Independence activist who was given Bharat Ratna in 1992

28. J. R. D. Tata 1992

A notable Industrialist and philanthropist, who served as the chairman of Tata Group and also founded Air India.

29. Satyajit Ray 1992

One of the most notable Filmmaker of India and Oscar Award winner (Life Time Achievement award in 1991)

30. Gulzarilal Nanda 1997

Gulzarilal Nanda was an Independence activist and two times interim Prime Minister of India.

31. Aruna Asaf Ali 1997

Aruna Asaf was an Independence activist. She is widely remembered for hoisting the Indian National Congress flag at the Gowalia Tank maidan in Bombay during the Quit India Movement, 1942.

32. A. P. J. Abdul Kalam 1997

Dr. Kalam was an Aerospace and Defense Scientist and eleventh President of India (2002–07). He received Bharat ratna 5 year before being President.

33. M. S. Subbulakshmi 1998

M. S. Subbulakshmi was a Carnatic classical vocalist.

34. Chidambaram Subramaniam 1998

An Independence activist and former Minister of Agriculture of India durin lal Bahadur Shastri government. (1964–66)

35. Jayaprakash Narayan 1999

An Independence activist and social reformer of India who raised voice against Indira government and started Total Revolution movement.

36. Ravi Shankar 1999

A notable and most famous Hindustani classical Sitar player.

37. Amartya Sen 1999

Amartya Sen was a Nobel laureate economist (1998) who recived Bharat Ratna after winning Nobel prize.

38. Gopinath Bordoloi 1999

An Independence activist and first Chief Minister of Assam (1946–50)

39. Lata Mangeshkar 2001

Most popular female Playback singer of India

40. Bismillah Khan 2001

Bismillah Khan was a Hindustani classical Shehnai player

41. Bhimsen Joshi 2009

Pandit Bhimsen Joshi received Bharat Ratna in 2009. He was a Hindustani classical vocalist

42. Sachin Tendulkar 2013

Most celebrated Cricketer in the world and most popular sports person of India.

43. C. N. R. Rao 2013

Dr. Rao is a notable Chemist who has published more than 1400 papers.

44. Madan Mohan Malaviya 2014

An Indian educationist and politician and Independence activist. He was the founder of Banaras Hindu University.

45. Atal Bihari Vajpayee 2014

An Independence activist, Former Prime Minister of India (1996), (1998), (1999-2004) and a poet