The Seven Wonders of the World were first designated by Antipater of Sidon in the second century AD.Not all classical writers list the same items as the Seven wonders but most of them agree on the following :

The Pyramids of Egypt :

These are the group of the three pyramids, Khufu, Khafra and Menkaura at Giza to a southern limit 96 km distant are often called Zoser,at Saggara,built about 2,700 B.C.The Great Pyramid of Cheops covers more than 12 acres and was originally 146.61 metres in height and 230.43×230.23 metres at the base.

The Hanging Gardens of Babylon :

Adjoining Nebuchadnezzar’s place,96 km south of Baghdad,the AGrdens was build in the 16th Century B.C.Terraced gardens,ranging from 23 to 91 metres above ground level,Watered from the storage tank on the highest terrace.

The Tomb of Mausolus :

At Halicarnassus,in Asia Minor.Build by the windowed Queen Artemisia about 350 B.C.The memorial originated the term mausoleum.

The Temple of Diana at Ephesus :

This temple was erected about 350 B.C. in honour of a not-Hellenic goddess who later became identified with the Greek goddess of the same name.The temple with ionic columns 18 metres high,was destroyed by invading Goth in 262 A.D.

The colossus of Rhodes :

A Bronze statue of Apollo,set up about 280 B.C.Accoding to legend it stood at the harbour entrance of sea-port of Rhodes.It was destroyed during an earthquake in 224 B.C.

The Statue of Jupiter Olympus :

At Olympia in the plain of Ellis constructed of marble in-laid with ivory and gold by the sculptor Phidias,about 430 B.C.All trace of it is lost,except for reproduction of coins.

The Pharos of Alexandria :

A marble watch tower and lighthouse on the island of Pharos in the harbour of Alexandria, built by Sostratus of Cnidus during the 3rd century B.C. it was destroyed by an earthquake in the 13th century.
Must Read: 


Comments are closed.