Indira Gandhi Peace Prize

Share This Post

Former Indian Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh is selected for by the panel headed by Former President Pranab Mukharjee for this year’s (2017) Indira Peace Award.

Name of Prize?

Indira Gandhi Prize for Peace, Disarmament and Development is popularly known as Indira Gandhi Peace Prize. 

Who gives Indira Peace Prize?

Instituted by the Indira Gandhi Memorial trust in 1986.

Who can get this award?

Any individuals or organisations in recognition of creative efforts toward promoting international peace, development and a new international economic order; ensuring that scientific discoveries are used for the larger good of humanity, and enlarging the scope of freedom.

What is Prize?

25 Lakh Rupees cash and citation.

List of Previous Indira Award Winners

1986 – Parliamentarians for Global Action
1987 – Mikhail Gorbachev
1988 – Gro Harlem Brundtland
1989 – UNICEF
1990 – Sam Nujoma
1991 – Rajiv Gandhi
1992 – Saburo Okita
1993 – Václav Havel
1994 – Trevor Huddleston
1995 – Olusegun Obasanjo
1996 – Médecins Sans Frontières
1997 – Jimmy Carter
1998 – Muhammad Yunus
1999 – Monkombu Sambasivan Swaminathan
2000 – Mary Robinson
2001 – Sadako Ogata
2002 – Shridath Ramphal
2003 – Kofi Annan
2004 – Maha Chakri Sirindhorn
2005 – Hamid Karzai
2006 – Wangari Maathai
2007 – Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation
2008 – Mohamed ElBaradei
2009 – Sheikh Hasina
2010 – Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva
2011 – Ela Bhatt
2012 – Ellen Johnson Sirleaf
2013 – Angela Merkel
2014 – Indian Space Research Organisation
2015 – UNHCR
2017 – Manmohan Singh


Related Posts

Art and Literature of Middle Ages

Art during the Middle Ages was different based on...

Literature of Ancient India: Sanskrit Drama

The origin of Sanskrit drama is in obscurity; there...

The Bhakti Movement of the Medieval Age

The Bhakti Movement, one of the most remarkable features...

Saivism: Origin, Principles and Kinds

The origin of Saivism may be traced to, as...

Sikhism – An Introduction to Sikh Religion

Sikhism had its origin in the teachings of Guru...

The Gandhara Art

The Gandhara Art, justifying its name, is localized to...
- Advertisement -spot_img