Shri Pranab Mukherjee

Father’s Name: Late Shri Kamada Kinkar Mukherjee

Mother’s Name: Late Shri mati Rajlakshmi Mukherjee

Date of Birth: December 11, 1935

Place of Birth: Mirati, Kirnahar, District: Birbhum, West Bengal

Marital Status: Married

Spouse’s Name: Smt. Suvra Mukherjee

Children: Two sons and one daughter

Educational Qualifications: M.A. (History), M.A. (Political Science), LL.B., D. Litt.
(Honoris Causa), Educated at Vidyasagar College

Permanent Address: Flat No. 2-A, First Floor, 60/2/7, Kavi Bharti Sarani, Lake Road,
Kolkata-700 029 West Bengal, Tel. (033) 24648366

Present Address: Rashtrapati Bhavan, New Delhi, 110 004., Tel: 011-23015321

Profession: Political and Social Worker, Teacher, Journalist, Writer

Family Background: Father was a freedom fighter, was imprisoned for more than 10 years,
participated in all Congress movements from 1920, was a member of AICC, and West Bengal Legislative Council (1952-64), President, District Congress Committee, Birbhum (WB).

Positions Held:

Elected to Rajya Sabha (July 1969)
Union Deputy Minister, Industrial Development (Jan 1973-Jan 1974)
Union Deputy Minister, Shipping and Transport (Jan 1974-Oct 1974)
Union Minister of State, Finance (Oct 1974-Dec 1975)
Re-elected to Rajya Sabha (2nd term) (July 1975)
Union Minister, Revenue and Banking (Independent Charge) (Dec 1975-Mar 1977)
Deputy Leader, Congress Party, Rajya Sabha (1978 -1980)
Member, Congress Working Committee (INC) (27 Jan 1978-18 Jan 1986)
Treasurer, All India Congress Committee; Treasurer, Congress (I) Party in Parliament (1978-1979)
Member, Central Parliamentary Board, AICC (1978-1986)
Union Minister, Commerce and Steel and Mines (Jan 1980-Jan 1982)
Leader of the House, Rajya Sabha (1980-1985)
Re-elected to Rajya Sabha (3rd term) (Aug 1981)
Union Cabinet Minister, Finance with additional charge of Ministry of Commerce and Supply (Jan 1982-Dec 1984 and Sept-Dec 1984)
Chairman, Campaign Committee of AICC for Conducting National Election to Parliament (1984-1991), (1996) and (1998)
Chairman, Economic Advisory Cell, AICC (1987-1989)
Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission (June 1991-May 1996)
Union Cabinet Minister, Commerce (Jan 1993-Feb 1995)
Re-elected to Rajya Sabha (4th term) (1993)
Union Cabinet Minister, External Affairs (Feb 1995-May 1996)
Member, Business Advisory Committee, Rajya Sabha (1996-2003)
Member, Committee on Privileges, Rajya Sabha; Member, Committee on Rules, Rajya Sabha (1996 -2004)
Member, Consultative Committee for External Affairs (1996 -1999)
Chairman, Departmentally related Parliamentary Standing Committee on Science & Technology, Environment & Forest (1997)
Re-elected to Rajya Sabha (5th term); Former Chairman, Central Election Coordination Committee, AICC (1999)
General Secretary, AICC; Former Member, Congress Working Committee (INC) (1998-1999)
Chairman, Departmentally related Parliamentary Standing Committee on Home Affairs; Former President, West Bengal Pradesh Congress Committee; Former Member, Central Election Committee, AICC (June 1998-May 2004)
Elected to 14th Lok Sabha (13 May 2004)
Union Cabinet Minister, Defence (23 May 2004-24 Oct. 2006)
Leader of the House, Lok Sabha (25 May 2004)
Union Cabinet Minister, External Affairs (25 Oct 2006-23 May 2009)
Ministry of Finance (additional charge) (24 Jan 2009-23 May 2009)
Re-elected to 15th Lok Sabha (2nd term); Former Leader of the House, Lok Sabha (20 May 2009)
Former Union Cabinet Minister, Finance (23 May 2009-26 Jun. 2012)

Books Published:

Mid-term Poll, 1969;
Beyond Survival: Emerging Dimensions of Indian Economy, 1984;
Off the Track, 1987;
Saga of Struggle and Sacrifice, 1992; and
Challenges Before the Nation (On Indian National Congress), 1992.

Awards: Padma Vibhushan, 2007.

Countries Visited: Widely travelled

Contact Details:

The President’s Secretariat
Rashtrapati Bhavan,
New Delhi,110 004.
Phone: 011-23015321
Fax : 011-23017290/011-23017824