Become a member

Get the best offers and updates relating to Syskool.

― Advertisement ―


Hockey’s Jadoogar – Dhyan Chand

Dhyan Chand popularly known as hockey's jadoogar. Dhyan Chand was born on 29th August, 1905 at Allahabad. His father was in the British Indian...
HomeLearnPolityCentral Vigilance Commission - CVC

Central Vigilance Commission – CVC

The Central Vigilance Commission was set up by the Government in February 1964 on the recommendations of the Committee on Prevention of Corruption, headed by Shri K. Santhanam, to advise and guide Central Government agencies in the field of vigilance. Nittoor Srinivasa Rau was selected as the first Chief Vigilance Commissioner of India.

The CVC is headed by a Central Vigilance Commissioner who is assisted by two Vigilance Commissioners. The Central Vigilance Commission has its own Secretariat, Chief Technical Examiners’ Wing (CTE) and a wing of Commissioners for Departmental Inquiries (CDI).

The current Central Vigilance Commissioner is Sh. K.V. Chowdary; and the Vigilance Commissioners are Sh. Dr. Tejendra Mohan Bhasin and Sh. Sharad Kumar.

Read Also: Central Vigilance Commission (CVC)

CVC is conceived to be the apex vigilance institution, free of control from any executive authority, monitoring all vigilance activity under the Central Government and advising various authorities in Central Government organizations in planning, executing, reviewing and reforming their vigilance work.

The CVC Bill was passed by both the houses of Parliament in 2003 and the President gave its assent on September 11, 2003. Thus, the Central Vigilance Commission Act 2003 (No 45 of 2003) came into effect from that date.

The Commission shall consist of:

  • A Central Vigilance Commissioner – Chairperson;
  • Not more than two Vigilance Commissioners – Members.

The Central Vigilance Commissioner and the Vigilance Commissioners are appointed by the President after obtaining the recommendation of a Committee consisting of:

  • The Prime Minister — Chairperson
  • The Home Minister — Member.
  • The Leader of the Opposition in the Lok Sabha — Member

Must Read: