Become a member

Get the best offers and updates relating to Syskool.

― Advertisement ―


Hockey’s Jadoogar – Dhyan Chand

Dhyan Chand popularly known as hockey's jadoogar. Dhyan Chand was born on 29th August, 1905 at Allahabad. His father was in the British Indian...
HomeCurrent AffairsCivil Services Day (CSD)

Civil Services Day (CSD)

On the occasion of 10th Civil Services Day, on 21 April, the Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi, released two books namely; “The Change Makers” and “Transforming India”.

Prime Minister honoured civil servants for excellence in implementing Government’s kernel projects on this occasion.

Why 21st April celebrated as CSD

It was on April21, 1947 that Sardar Vallabh Bhai Patel, had addressed the first batch of civil servants in Independent India at Metcalf House. It is here, he, in his speech, referred to civil servants as the “steel frame of India”.

About Civil Services Day (CSD)

Every year, on the 21st of April, the Civil Services Day is observed by all Civil Servants to re-commit and dedicate themselves to the cause of the people. It caters a unique opportunity for introspection as also preparing future strategies to deal with the challenges being confounded by the changing times.

Must Read: Earth Day and The Paris Agreements

On the occasion of Civil Services Day (CSD), all officers of Central and State Governments are honoured for excellence in public administration. The PM Award for Excellence in Public Administration is presented in three categories. These Awards, initiate in 2006, have been instituted with an intention to acknowledge, recognize and reward the extraordinary and innovative work done by officers of the Central and State Governments for the welfare of the common citizen.

Under this scheme all the officers individually or as a group or as an organization are eligible. The Award consists of a medal, scroll and a cash amount of Rs. 1 Lakh. In case of a group, the total award money is Rs. 5 Lakh subject to a maximum Rs. 1 Lakh per person. For an organization the cash amount is limited to Rs. 5 Lakh.

Civil Services Day, 2016

This year, a new category of excellence in priority programmed has been annexed to the Prime Minister’s awards. It has comprised Pradhan Mantri Jan Dhan Yojana, Swachh Bharat Mission, Swachh Vidyalaya and Soil Health Card Scheme.

Under the four priority programmes the Government is going to award 10 districts this year. These awards is going to presented in three Groups- the first group comprises of eight North-Eastern States and three Hill States of Uttrakhand, Himachal Pradesh and Jammu and Kashmir. The remaining 18 States form the second group, while the third Group consists of the seven Union Territories.

Read Also: Skill India Mission (SIM)