Indian Defence Awards

For the Purpose of Classification, India honours Indian Defence Awards can be divided into two categories.
The Gallantry awards are again divisible into two categories:
  • Those for gallantry in the face of the enemy.
  • Those for gallantry other than in the face of the enemy
The first category of the gallantry awards comprises :
1. Param Vir Chakra
2. Maha Vir Chakra
3. Vir Chakra
4. Sena, Nao Sena and Vayu Sena Medal
5. Mention in Dispatches
6. Chiefs of Staff Commendation Card

Read Also: Param Vir Chakra Winners

The second category of the gallantry awards comprise the following :
1. Ashoka Chakra
2. Kirti Chakra
3. Shaurya Chakra
These were originally named Ashoka Chakra Class I, Class II, Class III

Among non-gallantry awards, the following Indian Defence Awards are mentioned:

1. Bharat Ratna
2. Padma Vibhushan
3. Padma Bhushan
4. Param Vishisht Seva Medal
5. Padma Shri
6. Sarvottam Yudh Seva Medal
7. Uttam Yudh Seva Medal
8. Ati Vishisht Seva Medal
9. Yudh Seva Medal
10. Vishisht Seva Medal
11. 30 Years Long Seva Medal
12. 20 Years Long Service Medal
13. 9 Years Long Service Medal
14. Meritorious Service Medal
15. Long Service and Good Conduct Medal
16. General Service Medal – 1947
17. Samar Seva Medal
18. Sainya Seva Medal
19. Videsh Seva Medal
20. Commendation Card
21. Raksha Medal
22. Poorvi Star
23. Paschimi Star
24. Sangram Medal
25. Wound Medal
26. 25th Independence Anniversary Medal

Don’t Miss:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here