Become a member

Get the best offers and updates relating to Syskool.

― Advertisement ―


Hockey’s Jadoogar – Dhyan Chand

Dhyan Chand popularly known as hockey's jadoogar. Dhyan Chand was born on 29th August, 1905 at Allahabad. His father was in the British Indian...
HomeLearnPolityParts of the Constitution

Parts of the Constitution

Parts of the Constitution of India: The constitution of India contains twenty-two parts which include articles from 1 to 395.

Parts of the Constitution

Part – One | From Article 1 to 4

It deals with the territory of India formation of new states, alterations, names of existing states.

Part – Two | From Article 5 to 11

This part of the constitution deals with various rights of citizenship in India.

Part – Three | From Article 12 to 35

It deals with the fundamental rights of Indian citizens. [Article 31 – dealing with the right to property was deleted by the 44th amendment].

Part – Four | From Article 36 to 51

It deals with the Directive Principles of State Policy.

Part – Four – A | Articles 51 A

It was added by the 42nd amendment in 1976. It also contains the duties of the citizens.

Part – Five | Articles 52 to 151

It deals with government at the Union Level. It includes duties and functions of Prime Minister, Ministers, President, Attorney General, Parliament – Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, Comptroller and Auditor General.

Part – Six | Articles 152 to 237

It deals with government at the State Level. It includes duties and function of Chief Minister and his Ministers, Governor, State Legislature, High Court, Advocate General of the State.

Part – Seven | Article 238

It deals with States, was replaced in 1956 by the 7th amendment.

Part – Eight | Article 239 – 241

This Parts of the Constitution deals with Union Territories.

Part – Nine

Consists of two parts:

  1. Added by 73rd amendment in 1992. It contains a new schedule “Schedule Eleven”. It contains 29 subjects related to Panchayati Raj. They have been given administrative powers.
  2. Added by 74th amendment in 1992. It contains a new schedule “Schedule Twelve”. It contains 18 subjects related to municipalities. They have been given administrative powers.

Part – Ten | Articles 244 and 244-A

It deals with Scheduled and Tribal Areas.

Part – Eleven | Articles 245 to 263

It deals with Union and States.

Part – Twelve | Articles 264 to 300A

It deals with the distribution of revenue between Union and States, the appointment of Finance Commission (Article 280), contracts, liabilities etc.

Part – Thirteen | Articles 301 to 307

This Part is related to trade, commerce within the Territory of India.

Part – Fourteen | Articles 308 to 323

It deals with the Union Public Service Commission and other Public Service Commissions.

Part – Fourteen – A | Articles 323 A to 323 B

It was added by the 42nd amendment in 1976. Deals with administrative tribunals set up by parliament to hear disputes and complaint regarding Union, States or local government employees.

Part – Fifteen | Articles 324 to 329

It deals with elections and also Election Commission.

Part – Sixteen | Articles 330 to 342

It deals with special provisions for Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes and Anglo-Indian Representation.

Part – Seventeen | Articles 343 to 351

Related to the official language

Part – Eighteen | Articles 352 to 360

This Parts of the Constitution deals with emergency provisions.

Part – Nineteen | Articles 361 to 367

Exemption of criminal proceedings for their official acts as President and Governors.

Part – Twenty | Article 368

Deals with Amendment in Constitution

Part – Twenty One | Articles 369 to 392

Article 369 gives temporary powers to the Parliament to make laws for State list.
Article 370 contains temporary provisions of Jammu and Kashmir – Restricts the Parliament to make laws for that State.

Part – Twenty-Two | Article 393 to 395

Concerns the short title, commencement, and repeal of the constitution.

Read Also: