Become a member

Get the best offers and updates relating to Syskool.

― Advertisement ―


Hockey’s Jadoogar – Dhyan Chand

Dhyan Chand popularly known as hockey's jadoogar. Dhyan Chand was born on 29th August, 1905 at Allahabad. His father was in the British Indian...
HomeLearnPolitySchedules in the Constitution of India

Schedules in the Constitution of India

Schedules in the Constitution of India : The Constitution of India contains twelve Schedules in the Constitution of India from 1 to 12.


Schedules in the Constitution of India

First Schedule: List of State and Union Territories.
Second Schedule: Salary of President, Governors, Chief Judges, Judges of High Court and Supreme Court, Comptroller and Auditor General
Third Schedule: Forms of Oaths and Affirmations
Fourth Schedule: Allocate seats for each State of India in Rajya Sabha
Fifth Schedule: Administration and control of Scheduled area and tribes
Sixth Schedule: Provisions for administration of Tribal Area in Asom, Meghalaya, Tripura, Mizoram and Arunachal Pradesh.
Seventh Schedule: Allocation of power and function between Union and States. It contains three lists:
  • Union List (for Central Government): 98 subjects
  • State List (for State Government): 62 subjects
  • Concurrent List (both Union and State): 52 subjects
Eighth Schedule: List of 22 languages of India recognized by the constitution. Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Malayalam, Marathi, Oriya, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Tamil, Telegu, and Urdu were in the list from beginning. Sindhi was added in 1967 by 21st amendment; Konkani, Manipuri, and Nepali were added in 1992 by 71st amendment; Santhali, Maithili, Bodo, and Dogri were added in 2003 by 92nd amendment.
Ninth Schedule: Added by 1st amendment in 1951. Contains acts and orders related to land tenure, land tax, railways, industries.
Tenth Schedule: Added by 52nd amendment in 1985. Contains provisions of disqualification on grounds of  defection.
Eleventh Schedule: Added by 73rd amendment in 1992. Contains provisions of Panchayati Raj.
Twelfth Schedule: Added by 74th amendment in 1992. Contains provisions of Municipal Corporation.
Must Read: