Become a member

Get the best offers and updates relating to Syskool.

― Advertisement ―


Hockey’s Jadoogar – Dhyan Chand

Dhyan Chand popularly known as hockey's jadoogar. Dhyan Chand was born on 29th August, 1905 at Allahabad. His father was in the British Indian...
HomeLearnGeographySeven Continents

Seven Continents

A continent is one of the several very large landmasses on Earth. They are generally identified by convention rather than by any strict criteria, with up to seven regions commonly regarded as continents. These are (from largest in size to smallest): Asia, Africa, North America, South America, Antarctica, Europe, and Australia.


The continent of Asia is the largest with respect to both area and population while Australia being the smallest in both regards. This continent shares its border with the Ural Mountains to the East, the Arctic Ocean to the North, the Pacific Ocean to the West and the Indian Ocean to the South. The highest point in the World is Mount Everest. The 3rd longest river in the world; river Yangtze is in Asia and flows through China. The largest desert in Asia is the Gobi desert.

Asia contains the largest countries in the world with respect to both area and population. Russia is Asia’s largest country with respect to area followed by China, India, Kazakhstan, and KSA. Russia also keeps the reputation of being the largest country of the world as well.  Russia also has the world’s largest forest reserves known as “the lungs of Europe”. It has the 10th largest economy in the world. India is the seventh-largest country by area and the second most populous country in the world. India is the world’s most populous democracy with the world’s fastest growing economies.

Read Also: Continent and Countries


Africa is the second largest and the second most populous continent of the world. This is the continent of wonder and the place for the evolution of human history. Africa is a continent with diverse culture, uncountable languages, and immense natural resources.

Africa has occupied the southward landmass of the earth. It separates from Europe through the Mediterranean Sea and Asia through Red sea. Isthmus of Suez connects Africa from Asia. It also includes Arabian Peninsula and the Zagros mountains of Iran. Major rivers of Africa are the Nile, The Congo, The Niger and the Zambezi. Rivers in Africa are the blood for irrigation and fulfill the needs of human consumption.

North America

North America is the 3rd largest continent of the seven continents with respect to the area while being the most populous continent after Asia, Africa, and Europe. It shares its border with the Atlantic Ocean to the east and Pacific Ocean to the west. Canada, USA, and Mexico are the most dominant countries in the North American continent.

Canada is rich in natural reservoirs and makes a huge amount of profit from its energy and mineral resources. Fishing and forestry that once used to be the prime Canadian industries have been took over by energy and mineral industries that are the leading source of income for the country today. Warren Buffet, the CEO of Berkshire Hathaway is the 2nd richest person in North America.

South America

South America is situated between the Pacific and the Atlantic Ocean. The great Amazon River that surrounds a vast area of Amazon forests is located in South America. The second largest mountain range in the world after the Himalayas also runs down the western edge of South America. The Andes also have active and dormant volcanic peaks. The largest salt lake in the world is located in Bolivia that is one of the independent South American countries.

Peru is the third largest country of South America after Argentina.Mining, steel, petroleum, fishing, textile and tourism include the major industries of Peru. Angela falls kissing the Venezuela’s Canaima National Park are the highest waterfalls in the world. The falls are known as the pride of Venezuela. They represent the natural wealth and heritage of South America.

Must Read: Where do we find the Continental Climate and what are its main features ?


Antarctica, the second smallest continent in the world after Australia, covers the earth’s the South Pole. It lies in the Antarctic Circle and is surrounded by the Southern Ocean. It is known as the coldest, windiest, driest and least populous continent of the world. Antarctica is the coldest place on earth where water remains frozen year around.

Antarctica is the only continent that is completely deprived of bushes and trees. Vegetation of the continent is mainly composed of algae and mosses. The male “Emperor Penguin” is the only warm-blooded animal that survives in the frosty weather of this frozen desert. The female penguin hibernates during the entire winter and comes out to hatch eggs.

NASA asserts that Antarctica and Mars have a lot of things in common. Both the places are extremely cold and dry. Antarctica is a continent that falls in no one’s territory. Antarctica does not follow any time zone. The scientists or tourists who usually come here reside here, following the time of their homeland.


Europe shares its boundaries with the Arctic Ocean in the North, by the Atlantic Ocean in the West. In the south of Europe lies the Mediterranean Sea and to the East, its boundary is vague and blurred. Europe has been the birth-place for the world’s most ancient civilizations like Greece and Rome. Europe has also been the epicenter of the biggest wars; World War I and World War II which wreaked havoc on the people of several countries.

The world’s oldest countries like France, Portugal and Denmark also reside in this continent. The prime sectors of its economy include transport, energy and research whereas EU is the world’s biggest exporter and second-biggest importer. Ukraine is the second largest country in Europe considering its area. It was considered to be the most powerful state in Europe in the 10th century. France, one of the most developed countries in the world leads other European countries. It has the reputation of being the permanent member NATO, G-8, and G-20.

Must Read: Advent Of Europeans


Australia is a lonely continent on the surface of the earth. It is the world’s smallest continent. Australia is a highly diverse continent. It has extremes of weather, a stunning variety of flora and fauna, snow-capped mountains, vast stretches of deserts, frightening marshes, and fertile flatland. Australia occupies four different climate zones, Sub-equatorial, Tropical, Sub-tropical, and Temperate. Two-thirds of the Australia is arid and doesn’t support vegetation. Its climatic diversity gives rise to natural hazards in the form of the thunderstorm, droughts, occasional floods and frequent bushfires.

The most developed countries of the world, Australia is also the most popular country on this continent .It is the world’s 12th largest economy and has the world’s 5th highest per capita income. Australia is emerging as a nation due to its moderate policies such as quality education, health facilities, civic liberties, economic freedom and political rights. Canberra is the capital of Australia.

Australia indisputably possess some of the most beautiful beaches in the world with crystals of sand and clean limpid ocean water. The small and calms bays are perfect for swimming and surfing. Another breathtaking feature of this green continent is Great Barrier Reef known as the “Pearl of the Crown”. It is the sanctuary of aquatic life which is the masterpiece of the nature on the earth.

Also, Read:

When were the present continents formed ?

Largest country

World’s 10 Greatest Ocean or Seas, Deserts, and Mountains

Previous article
Next article