Become a member

Get the best offers and updates relating to Syskool.

― Advertisement ―


Hockey’s Jadoogar – Dhyan Chand

Dhyan Chand popularly known as hockey's jadoogar. Dhyan Chand was born on 29th August, 1905 at Allahabad. His father was in the British Indian...
HomeLearnPolityBicameral Parliamentary System

Bicameral Parliamentary System

A bicameral parliamentary system is a system of two legislative Chambers. Indian system is bicameral because both the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha are involved in the process of making new laws. Bicameral literally means ‘two chambers’.

Countries with Bicameral Parliamentary System:

  1. Australia-Parliament–Senate–House of Representatives
  2. Austria-Parliament–Federal Council–National Council
  3. Antigua and Barbuda-Parliament–Senate–House of Representatives
  4. The Bahamas-Parliament–Senate–House of Assembly
  5. Barbados-Parliament–Senate–House of Assembly
  6. Belize–National Assembly–Senate–House of Representatives
  7. Belgium-Federal Parliament–Senate–Chamber of Representatives
  8. Bhutan-Parliament (Chitshog)–Bhutan will become a Democratic Constitutional Monarchy in 2008–National Council (Gyalyong Tshogde)– National Assembly (Gyalyong Tshogdu)
  9. Canada-Parliament–Senate–House of Commons
  10. Czech Republic-Parliament–Senate–Chamber of Deputies
  11. Ethiopia-Federal Parliamentary Assembly–House of Federation– House of People’s Representatives
  12. Germany–Bundesrat (Federal Council)–Bundestag (Federal Diet)
  13. Grenada-Parliament–Senate–House of Representatives
  14. India-Parliament–Rajya Sabha (Council of States)–Lok Sabha (House of People)
  15. Ireland-Oireachtas–Seanad Éireann–Dáil Éireann
  16. Iraq-National Assembly–Council of Union [2]–Council of Representatives
  17. Italy-Parliament–Senate of the Republic–Chamber of Deputies
  18. Jamaica-Parliament–Senate–House of Representatives
  19. Japan-Diet–House of Councillors–House of Representatives
  20. Malaysia-Parliament–Dewan Negara–Dewan Rakyat
  21. The Netherlands-States-General–Eerste Kamer–Tweede Kamer
  22. Pakistan-Majlis-e-Shoora–Senate–National Assembly
  23. Poland-Parliament–Senate–Sejm
  24. Romania-Parliament–Senate–Chamber of Deputies
  25. Saint Lucia-Parliament–Senate–House of Assembly
  26. Slovenia-Parliament–National Council–National Assembly
  27. South Africa-Parliament–National Council of Provinces–National Assembly
  28. Spain-Cortes Generales–Senate–Congress of Deputies
  29. Switzerland-Federal Assembly–Council of States–National Council
  30. Thailand-National Assembly [3]–Senate–House of Representatives
  31. Trinidad and Tobago-Parliament–Senate–House of Representatives
  32. United Kingdom-Parliament–House of Lords–House of Common

Also, Read:

Constitutional Development in India From Regulating Act 1773 to Govt. of India Act 1935

Borrowed Features of The Constitution

Unicameral Parliamentary System