Become a member

Get the best offers and updates relating to Syskool.

― Advertisement ―


Hockey’s Jadoogar – Dhyan Chand

Dhyan Chand popularly known as hockey's jadoogar. Dhyan Chand was born on 29th August, 1905 at Allahabad. His father was in the British Indian...
HomeLearnPolitySchedules of Indian Constitution

Schedules of Indian Constitution

There are 12 Schedules in The Indian Constitution.

First Schedule

deals with territories of 28 states and seven union territories of the Indian Union.

Second Schedule

deals with salaries, allowances etc. of President, Vice President, Speaker, Judges of Supreme Court and High Courts, Comptroller and Auditor General etc.

Third Schedule

of constitution prescribes the various forms of oath or affirmation which various incumbents have to take before assuming a public office.

Fourth Schedule

deals with seats allotted to various states and union territories in the Rajya Sabha (Council of States).

Fifth Schedule

deals with the provision regarding administration and control of the scheduled areas.

Sixth Schedule

deals with the provision regarding administration of tribal areas in the state of Assam, Meghalaya, and Mizoram.

Read Also: Legislative Relation Between Centre and State in India

Seventh Schedule

details the subjects contained in the three lists – union list, state list, and concurrent list, over which the Union and state governments enjoy authority.

Eighth Schedule

gives the list of 22 regional languages recognized by the original Constitution (Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Malayalam, Marathi, Oriya, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Tamil, Telugu and Urdu) the 15th (Sindhi) was added by the 21st Amendment in 1967; and three viz Konkani, Manipuri, and Nepali were added by the 71st Amendment in 1992. In 2004 four more languages were added to the Eighth Schedule viz Bodo, Maithili, Santhali, and Dogri. With this total number of regional languages increased to 22.

Ninth Schedule

covers land and tenure reforms; the accession of Sikkim with India. It may be reviewed by the courts

Tenth Schedule

introduces the “Anti-defection” provisions for Members of Parliament and Members of the State Legislatures.

Eleventh Schedule

constituted for Panchayats, for rural development.

Twelfth Schedule

defines Powers, authority, and responsibilities of Municipalities.

Must Read: