Become a member

Get the best offers and updates relating to Syskool.

― Advertisement ―


Hockey’s Jadoogar – Dhyan Chand

Dhyan Chand popularly known as hockey's jadoogar. Dhyan Chand was born on 29th August, 1905 at Allahabad. His father was in the British Indian...
HomeLearnCultureCultural  Heritage Sites of the world

Cultural  Heritage Sites of the world

There are 3 types of sites: cultural, natural and mixed. Cultural Heritage Sites include hundreds of historic buildings and town sites, important archaeological sites, and works of monumental sculpture or painting. Natural Heritage Sites provide excellent examples of ongoing ecological and biological evolutionary process and contains natural phenomenon etc. Mixed Heritage Sites contains elements of both natural and cultural significance. A list of selected World Heritage Sites is mentioned below:

Mahabodhi Temple (Gaya)

Mahabodhi Temple, spread over an area of 4.86 hectares, was inscribed in the UNESCO World Heritage list as a unique property of cultural and archaeological importance. This temple was built by the emperor Asoka in 3rd century B.C. , built entirely in bricks. The present temple comprises the 50 meter high Grand temple, the Vajrasana, sacred Bodhi tree and other 6 sacred sites of Buddha’s enlightment surrounded by Votive Stupas, Lotus pond.

Jantar Mantar (Jaipur)

It is an astronomical observation site built in the early 18th century. It includes a set of some 20 main fixed instruments. It has been inscribed as cultural property on the UNESCO World Heritage List as “an expression of the astronomical skills of a scholarly prince at the end of the Mughal Period.

Must Read: Indian Renaissance – The Socio-Cultural Awakening

Kaziranga Wildlife Sanctuary (Assam)

It was declared a World heritage Sites by UNESCO in 1985 for its unique natural environment. It is the oldest park in Assam, covers an area of 430 sq. km along the river Brahmaputra. It is famous for the Great Indian one horned Rhinoceros, the landscape of Kaziranga is a sheer forest, tall elephant grass, rugged seeds, marshes and shallow pools.

Humayun’s Tomb (Delhi)

This tomb, built in 1570 by the 2nd Mughal Emperor’s Humayun’s widow Biga Begum,  was inscribed as a UNESCO World Heritage Sites in 1993 for cultural significance as it was the 1st garden-tomb on the Indian Subconitent.The tomb is built with charbagh (fourfold) layout with 2 gates and has a number of water channels, a pavilion and a bath.

Champaner Pavagadh Archaeological Park (Gujarat)

It was inscribed as a UNESCO World Heritage Sites in 2004. This site includes other vestiges, fortifications, palaces, religious buildings, agricultural structures and water installations from 8th to 14th centuries.

Pyramids of Giza (Egypt)

This complex  ancient monument, inscribed as UNESCO World Heritage Sites in 1979, includes the Great Pyramids, the Great Sphinx cemeteries and more. It is located 9 km from the old town of Giza on the Nile, southwest of Cairo.

Also Read: Ajanta Caves – A UNESCO World Heritage Site

Taj Mahal (Agra)

A giant mausoleum of white marble, built between 1632 and 1653 by the Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan in memory of his wife, was inscribed as UNESCO World Heritage Sites in 1983.

The Great Wall of China (China)

Built in the 14th century, 8,850 km long the Great Wall of China, was inscribed as UNESCO World Heritage Sites in 1987. The wall was built to protect the northern borders of the Chinese Empire from the attack of nomadic tribes.

Machu Picchu (Peru)

This site, also known as “The Lost City of the Incas”, was inscribed as UNESCO World heritage Sites in 1983. It is 15th century site located on a mountain 2,430 above sea-level, some 80 km of Cusco. Most archaeologists believe that Machu Picchu was built as an estate for the Inca Emperor Pachacuti.

Don’t Miss: The Rig Veda Age : Religion and Philosophy